Book Review- Tartine All Day by Elisabeth Prueitt

Does it seem like this blog has turned into a book review blog? I suppose it’s not a bad thing, but this isn’t the plan. I just get so excited to try new things that I have trouble sitting and writing about them. I’ve been way into Instagram lately too, which doesn’t help! We will just have to see how it goes.

Anyway, I did recently receive a digital copy of Tartine All Day Modern Recipes for the Home Cook by Elisabeth Prueitt to review.

9780399578823

It’s so pretty! I love my Tartine Bread and Tartine no 3, so this was something I was definitely interested in.  I was a little unsure about it, however, because this one isn’t bread based.

As a coffee table book I would LOOOOOOVE this. Even in my app just looking at the pictures makes me happy- they are beautiful, relevant, and hunger inducing. As a real life recipe book that I’m going to use? I like it, but I’m not sure how many recipes I will actually make.

Tartine All Day is what it says, it has recipes for any time of day. The book is split into Basics, Breakfast and Brunch, Appetizers and Snacks, Soups, Salads, Vegetables, and Sides, Mains, Gatherings, and Desserts. There are many delicious sounding recipes in here, and I’m sure I’ll get around to trying a few eventually. My only problem is that the author’s typical daily ingredients and my typical on hand ingredients don’t mesh up well. Part of this is because she is gluten free (she can eat her husband’s naturally leavened sourdough, but in general must still avoid wheat and gluten), but part of it is just because of different cooking styles. And mine is changing all the time as I work on building my ideal pantry, so maybe they will mesh up better eventually. It’s not that each recipe takes five hundred ingredients, it’s just that each recipe takes a few ingredients I’d have to go out and buy and I wouldn’t necessarily want or know how to use up whatever ends up leftover. This isn’t a criticism of the book at all, just differing tastes.

Every picture in this book is fantastic. That blueberry jam on the cover always catches my eye, and it’s one of the recipes I’m planning on trying first if I ever get my act together. The recipe blurbs are more ingredient or recipe fact based than story based, but they are still well written and pleasant to read. The steps are broken down to make the recipes approachable, rather than intimidating.

If you find yourself in a bookstore hunt this one down and flip through it. Whether you want to make one thing from it or everything you might find it worth it for the pictures alone!

Please note that I received this digital book from netgalley in exchange for my review.

Leave a Reply

