Autumn upside-down cake from the Sourdough Cookbook by Sarah Owens

Sourdough by Sarah Owens is another book I should do an actual review on. And soon. For now I’ll say I love this book. I’ve made a bunch of things from it already and it’s so nice to have things to make from my sourdough starter other than bread. Here is a poorly lit picture of the cover if you’re interested-

img_2694

 

Anyway, recently I made the autumn upside-down-cake from page 99 of this book and I was so impressed! With the recipe, with myself, maybe both. I am not the greatest at making cute things, but even though some of the fruit moved around as I spread the batter over it the cake turned out adorable! And it tasted delicious (which is the most important part after all) and was pretty simple to make as well. Oh, and it took 200 grams of sourdough starter, which was really helpful as I haven’t made bread in awhile and I really hate throwing away the extra.

This cake is pretty much a sourdough upside down cake with cranberries, persimmons, and pears.

Here is the top of the cake before adding the batter and baking it. Pretty cute, right? I took these pictures because I figured there was no way I could keep it this cute. The pears are from my friend’s pear tree (how cool is that?) and this was my first time tasting a persimmon!

img_2655

Here is the cake after baking. Some of the fruit shifted, but I was pleased with it.

If you are a sourdough baker looking for interesting breads and other recipes to use up some of that sourdough starter, definitely check out this book. Review will come eventually!

2 thoughts on “Autumn upside-down cake from the Sourdough Cookbook by Sarah Owens

Leave a Reply

