First fougasse attempt

Hey friends!

One of my friends recently made some fougasse, and they were beautiful. I was jealous, so I decided to try too. That same day. Sometimes that’s how I am.

I took my Parmesan and black pepper sourdough recipe, then added some garlic powder and replaced 80% of the water with my favorite tomato sauce. Why? Because I could, that’s why! It made the dough a little tricky to work with, but it wasn’t super sticky or anything. I watched a bunch of youtube videos, then decided to follow the easiest looking one, which was not the smartest idea I’ve ever had as my dough was DEFINITELY NOT THE SAME. Somehow I did manage to get my dough somewhat shaped and into the pans and then into the oven.

When they came out of the oven you could really see the thick and thin spots. Next time I will have to be more careful and try to keep each piece evenly stretched. One fougasse came out of the oven completely burnt AND undercooked (it’s possible!) but the other one was almost alright. A little underdone maybe. I think next time I might attempt to add some steam, but I have some more research to do first. Here’s a photo of the less ugly one-

img_2561

So, it’s not perfect, but I’m glad I went for it. Thanks friend for making me jealous and inspiring me to try something new! Sometimes I get stuck doing what I’m doing, but I’m always much happier when I branch out. Even if it doesn’t work out, at least I tried.

The tomato sauce replacing the liquid though- it might have made the dough a little harder to work with (though that just as easily could have been the colder weather we are having) but that was a GOOD idea. I recommend it.

Go try something new!

Leave a Reply

