Book Review- Power Vegetables by Peter Meehan and the editors of Lucky Peach

9780553447989

 

If you love the ridiculousness that is Lucky Peach there is a good chance you will love Power Vegetables! Turbocharged Recipes for Vegetables with Guts by Peter Meehan and the editors of Lucky Peach. This book is quirky, silly, but also informative. The  premise of the book is to present easy, weeknight vegetable dishes with real flavor for people looking to eat meals that are more veggie centric. There are no pasta recipes, egg-on-it dishes, or grain bowls. There are plenty of those types of recipes out there in the world right now, and this book wants to be innovative, giving NEW ideas for dinner. That said, there is a note saying most anything in the book (or leftovers!) could be eaten over pasta or as part of a grain bowl. The author’s focus will just be on other things. The book also makes a point to say that from the author’s perspective fish and dairy are ok. While the author wants to show how awesome veggies can be this book is not a super strict “you must eat this way” type of book. Oh, and just in case you are a stickler for produce classification there is a note saying that fruits are vegetables as well. Cucumbers, tomatoes, squash, etc.- all are treated as vegetables for this book. That’s ok with me!

There is a pantry section towards the front that lists ingredients with drawings of possible containers and information about each ingredient. This is super helpful, especially if you haven’t heard of one of them before. There’s even a few recipes using specific ingredients sprinkled throughout this section.

The recipes are divided as follows- starters, salads, pies & the like, soups/soupy, ensemble players, mains, mainly potatoes, and bread & cake. I really like this organizational method, I feel it makes it easier to find what you are looking for, at least if you are a big texture person like me.

I can’t wait to try some of the dips in here, and the Caesar salad (I love a good Caesar salad but have not yet attempted to make the dressing on my own) but I can tell you that the torta di erbe on page 108 is pretty darn good.

The pictures in this book are not what I’d call beautiful, but they aren’t awful either. They are a little odd but overall they fit in with the theme of the book. A plastic dinosaur eating a salad? Strange, but I’ll take it!

I feel like I’m probably right in there with the target demographic of this book. I try to cook at home and eat healthy-ish, and am slowly trying to incorporate more and varied vegetables into my family’s diet. Most of the recipes presented in this book are new to me, and I love that.

If you see this book while you are out and about you should give it a flip through, it’s worth it.

Please note that I received this book from blogging for books in exchange for my honest review.

2 thoughts on “Book Review- Power Vegetables by Peter Meehan and the editors of Lucky Peach

Leave a Reply

