Parmesan and black pepper sourdough

img_1955

My scoring went wonky again (I’m not surprised. I’ll get there.) but this bread is DELICIOUS. The texture is right, the flavor is right, the dough is only a little bit hard to handle. The crust is crispy and light, the inside is not super open but is definitely moist. I will add this one to my rotation for sure. Recipe below.

Parmesan and black pepper sourdough

Ingredients

375 grams water @ 80°F

100 grams starter (preferably young or recently fed. I split off some of my normal starter early the morning of the night I want to make dough. I take a tablespoon or 2 of starter, add 50 grams each of white and whole wheat flour, and add 100 grams of water at about 80°F. As soon as you can put a bit in water and it floats (usually 6-8 hours or so) you can use it. If your plain old starter floats you could use it too, but the flavor would likely be more sour.)

450 grams bread flour

50 grams whole wheat flour

10 grams salt

5 grams black pepper

105 grams parmesan cheese. (I used a cheap triangle of it I found and grated it tiny with my microplaner.)

You could add 5 grams of dried basil here as well, I did that for a friend and she said it was delicious. I haven’t made it that way for myself yet but I will probably try it out next time.

Mix the water and starter until the starter breaks up. Then add both types of flour and mix by hand. Cover and leave to sit for about half an hour to autolyse.

After at least half an hour has passed, add the salt, pepper, cheese, and basil if using. Wet your hand and mix thoroughly, making sure everything gets evenly incorporated.

Bulk ferment at room temperature for about 4 hours. I did stretch and folds every half an hour.

Carefully remove dough from container, loosely shape, and allow to bench rest for about 20 minutes. After this, shape into boules and place in containers to rise. I use a medium sized mixing bowl lined with a lint free towel that has been dusted with a 50/50 mix of rice and all purpose flour. Cover container with plastic wrap and put in the fridge overnight.

In the morning (8-10 hours later) preheat oven with covered dutch oven inside to 500°F.  Tip dough out of container, flour the top of the loaves, and score as desired. Don’t ask me for advice there, I’m still figuring it out. Carefully move to the hot dutch oven, put back in the oven and reduce heat to 450° F. Bake for 20 minutes, then carefully remove the lid. Bake for another 15-25 minutes, until top is deep brown and temperature registers 205° F or however you like to tell bread is done.

Wait at least an hour before cutting into bread. Or at least try.

 

 

One thought on “Parmesan and black pepper sourdough

Leave a Reply

