Sourdough grilled cheese with salami and pickles

Hi friends! Did you know that you can add salami and pickles to grilled cheese? I didn’t! I saw a thing on the facebook page of Bon Appetit (the magazine). It doesn’t really require a recipe, but it did spark an idea.

I also recently learned that you can use mayo on the outside of grilled cheese sandwiches if you’re out of butter. Or if you just want to. There is a flavor change, but it’s pretty minor. The first time I read about that I thought it would make a terrible mess in my pan, but it didn’t. Worked about the same for me!

Pseudo recipe/stacking order

2 slices sourdough coated with butter or mayo on the outsides

thin sliced cheddar cheese

pickles sliced thinly

salami

more thin sliced cheddar cheese

put in a frying pan or on a griddle, cook on each side until golden brown and delicious.

Cut into triangles and serve. Or whichever shape you want, but triangles are better. Or don’t cut it- I’m not going to make you.

img_1816

One thought on “Sourdough grilled cheese with salami and pickles

Leave a Reply

