Country Rye from Chad Robertson’s Tartine

img_1555

I’m a little disappointed. I finally got my scoring fairly consistently how I wanted it on my normal, knead forever, high hydration sourdough. Then I started experimenting, and my scoring on the higher hydration doughs are awful. I can’t even tell if I’m getting better or worse. Hopefully it’ll click in my head one of these days.

Anyway, this bread is delicious. While not as tangy as the field blend no. 2 from Ken Forkish’s Flour Water Salt Yeast, this country rye from Chad Robertson’s Tartine still has a nice rye flavor. The dough is also a little easier (for me) to handle. It’s still sticky and a bit oozy, but I’m slowly figuring out better ways to work with it.

The thing I love about the Tartine book is that everything is sourdough! It’s nice to not have to sift through recipes to find sourdough options, and not to have to convert anything if I feel like using sourdough in a yeast recipe.

The crust on this bread is thin-ish and crispy, the interior has a decent crumb structure, and it’s flavor is really good. I will definitely keep working on this one, and hopefully one of these days I can match the scoring to the vision in my head. Practice makes better, right?

Leave a Reply

