Book Review- The Bread Baker’s Apprentice Mastering the Art of Extraordinary Bread 15th anniversary edition by Peter Reinhart

9781607748656

Ok, this book is super exciting to me. Peter Reinhart is one of the most respected and commonly heard of names when it comes to bread baking. At least in the research I’ve done. I have checked out the Bread Baker’s Apprentice from the library a few times, but hadn’t gotten around to buying it. I’m kind of glad I waited, because this 15th anniversary edition is updated, albeit slightly, and has some extra info.

Three new recipes/formulas were added to this edition, and also the author added comments and explanations to the recipes where things were changed. Peter Reinhart has learned a few things over the last 15 years, and now he is once again generously sharing his knowledge.

I enjoyed some of the new methodology information, such as a greater use stretch and folds, and also the extra information on sourdough. If you’re reading this, you probably know about my sourdough obsession, and it definitely was the first section I was drawn to. Also, while the cover is the same as the previous edition there is also an updated photo of the woman on the cover along with additional info on her in the back of this book. While that may be a silly little thing, I enjoyed it immensely.

Peter Reinhart is fantastic at explaining the WHY of things along with the how of them. As long as it’s written well I can’t stop reading about bread, so this book is a perfect match for me! I also really appreciate the fact that the author doesn’t set things in stone. He guides, and gives additional options, but doesn’t give the stern “you must do it my way, or else!” feeling that other baking books sometimes have.

If you enjoy baking bread I highly recommend you get yourself a copy of this book. If you’re on the fence, check it out from the library first, most should have at least the older version. This is a reference book, and I think it’s very handy to have around.

Please note that I received this book from blogging for books in exchange for my honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

