Book Review- All Under Heaven by Carolyn Phillips

Hi friends! I haven’t blogged in awhile, but I’ve still been doing bread experiments. I swear I’m not going to turn into a cookbook reviewer only, I really do hope to get a chance to write about some of my sourdoughs soon, it just hasn’t worked out recently. I’ve also fell down the Instagram rabbit hole (there are so many pretty bread pictures! Who knew you could get totally inspired by a picture with a small caption? More experiments coming up!) and you can find me here.

Anyway, I recently received a copy of All Under Heaven, Recipes from the 35 Cuisines of China in the mail. This is a meaty book! It’s heavy, long (514 pages!) and has such an elegant cover.

9781607749820

Just look at how simple and beautiful that is!

The inside is a smidge disappointing, I do love colorful food photography and this shows only black and white line drawings, but there’s nothing WRONG with it. The recipes are sorted into chapters by geographical regions, and each chapter begins with some history on that region. There is a lot of good information here! Periodically there are also drawn illustrations with instructions on some of the more difficult or unusual techniques. For example, cutting squid blossoms and filling hakka tamales are explained both visually and by the written word.

Most of the recipes seem fairly approachable, but I’ll be honest, I haven’t cooked anything out of this one yet. The size and heft of the book alone are a little much for me. I am currently flipping through it again to write this review, however, and I’m being reminded that there are some interesting things in here that might be fun to make. If I can dig out of my sourdough place for awhile I will probably try a few.

Short summary- the cover is captivating, there’s lots of history, and a bunch of recipes in here. If this seems like your thing, definitely pick it up and give it a flip through!

Please note that I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

