No Knead sourdough experiment

Hi friends! I haven’t disappeared. I have been doing a lot of experimentation lately and the results have been… interesting. Not exactly disappointing, but definitely not beautiful. Honestly I wasn’t sure I wanted to share, but what’s the point of having  a blog if I don’t want to share things? You can’t get better if you refuse to try.

I found myself reading My Bread: The Revolutionary No-Work, No-Knead Method by Jim Lahey. A bit late to jump on the bandwagon, but I’ve jumped on now and I’m completely fascinated. I wanted to try out the basic no knead bread from the book, but I didn’t have yeast (and sometimes using store bought yeast makes me feel like I’m cheating on Heinrich, my sourdough starter.) After reading some of the theory in the book and googling a lot to find information from around the web I came up with my own no knead sourdough.

The results were not bad. The dough was a bit hard to work with and did not want to hold it’s shape as well as my normal sourdough, which means the final loaf was a bit ugly. It looked like a football, but that could be remedied with practice. There was quite a bit of oven spring, which was nice. The crust was crisp and thinner than normal, but I probably should have baked it a bit longer to get more color. The crumb was nice and open. All in all I might try this again if I have some time but don’t want to knead, but I prefer the prettier loaves from my normal recipe at this point.

 

No Knead Sourdough- makes one loaf

Ingredients

2 oz sourdough starter (100% hydration)

9 oz flour

6 oz water

.2 oz (1 tsp) salt

 

Mix starter and water in a large bowl and stir to dissolve. Add flour and salt and mix well. Cover and let rise on counter overnight. Afterwards, place dough in fridge (I left it in the same bowl) for 3 days for flavor development and proofing.

After the 3 days remove dough from fridge. Remove from bowl, shape, place on parchment paper or a floured countertop and let rest for about two hours in order to come to room temperature. Afterwards, lightly flour the top of the loaf and score.

Place dutch oven in a cold oven and preheat to 475° f about an hour before you want to bake. After an hour, carefully remove dutch oven and lid, plop the dough in with the scored side up, cover, and bake for 15 minutes with the lid on. After the 15 minutes reduce heat to 400° f and remove lid. Bake another 20 minutes or so without the lid, until bread reaches 205° f and loaf sounds hollow when you tap on the bottom. Allow to cool at least an hour before slicing.

 

Leave a Reply

