Mushrooms on Sourdough

I’ve been reading a lot about bread lately.  I find the science and artistry of it fascinating, and I love reading the back stories of the people who bake it. While reading, something sparked and I had a seemingly fleeting thought about whether I could add mushrooms to dough to make mushroom bread- an idea I discarded because I can’t see it working out (yet)- but mushrooms on sourdough has been floating around in my head like a permanent daydream ever since. It was such a strong, sensory idea that I could almost taste it. I was just going to sauté some mushrooms with some butter, salt, pepper, and garlic, but then things got better.

Today was a no-time-to-plan-dinner-wait-do-I-even-have-food? type of day. My daughter and I went out for awhile unexpectedly, and when we came home she wanted “just bread” for dinner. I had made my weekly sourdough this morning, so I gave her a few small buttered slices with some apples and strawberries. For once she ate it all and asked for more! We made some spinach chips (have you made these? They’re just like kale chips but without the aftertaste. Rub a small amount of oil on spinach leaves along with spices- we totally use flavored popcorn salt for hers- bake flat on a parchment lined baking sheet at 350° f for about 8 minutes.) and then it was time for me to make something. We usually eat together, but it was an odd day.

I had mushrooms in the fridge, and fresh baked bread, so I decided to throw together my mushrooms on sourdough. Since I had the spinach I just had to add some, spinach and mushrooms go together so well after all. With some pantry ingredients and a few things from the fridge I suddenly had an accidental delicious dinner! Maybe not the prettiest though. This is more idea than recipe, I didn’t really measure as I was going, but it’s easy to tweak to your own tastes.

Mushrooms on Sourdough

Ingredients

Pack of mushrooms, sliced. I bought the smallish pack of button mushrooms and sliced them myself.

Couple handfuls of spinach, roughly torn

2 Tbl butter

Salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, white pepper. If you don’t have all of these don’t stress, use what you’ve got.

Splash of soy sauce

Splash of lemon juice

Milk

Small spoonful of flour

Handful of parmesan

Large spoonful sour cream.

Slices of sourdough or other crusty bread.

 

First, sauté sliced mushrooms in butter with a little salt and pepper. I used a medium frying pan for this. You can add fresh garlic if you have it, but I couldn’t be bothered to chop or grate any so I just used garlic powder. When the mushrooms start to soften, add the spinach. Add garlic powder, cayenne pepper, white pepper, a splash of lemon juice, and a splash of soy sauce. When the spinach is wilted add a glug of milk, a handful of parmesan, and a spoonful of flour to thicken it up. Make sure to mix well so you don’t end up with bites of raw flour! I added a large spoonful of sour cream and a little bit more of all of the peppers at this point. It ended up nice and creamy. Spoon over bread, either toasted or not.

 

Leave a Reply

