Book Review- The Naked Cookbook by Tess Ward

I recently received this book in the mail, and my first thought was “what were they thinking?!” The book cover is made of very porous cardboard, and there’s little in the way of binding. I don’t normally feel like a super grubby person, but within five minutes the cover was stained and the corner was a bit torn, you know, the way my books look AFTER I have cooked with them in the kitchen a few times. I tried to give it the benefit of the doubt (naked cookbook, barely there cover, sure why not) but this is a COOKBOOK. It belongs in the kitchen, getting tossed around with messy hands. I don’t think it’s going to hold up well at all.

I also was not super fond of the chapter names. Pure, Raw, Stripped, Bare, Nude, Clean, and Detox. I understand that they are working with a theme, but I don’t like thinking about nude food, it just seems weird. Maybe that makes me weird, but I don’t like it.

The next thing that really bothered me was in the first recipe. The author talks about broths and stocks and says “Broths are simmered for a long period of time (often in excess of 24 hours), whereas stocks are simmered for 3-4 hours.” According to everything I learned in school (and what I could find on food network, the kitchn, and in my copy of Professional Cooking fifth edition by Wayne Gisslen) she pretty much got it backwards. I don’t know if this is a London vs US thing, but I found it irritating.

All that said, I really do like a lot of the recipes in this book. And the pictures are very nice. I especially like the lattes, I immediately tried the turmeric + ginger latte which calls for ground spices (surprising in this kind of book, usually I expect you must use fresh or else types of recipes) which was nice because I HAD everything I needed in my pantry. And it was a little weird, but pretty delicious. There are a few other lattes I might want to try, an interesting take on granola, and some easy looking kimchi and sauerkraut. Maybe it’s my love of sourdough talking, but I have a soft spot for fermented things! Especially easy ones.

img_1143

This is a book you should probably try to find in a store to flip through. If you’re like me there are a few things you need to be able to get over, but it does have some nice stuff in it.

 

I received this book from bloggingforbooks in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own. You can find this book on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

