Imaginary Recipe

Tonight’s dinner was inspired by a recipe I thought I saw. I wanted to marinate some chicken with vinegar à la Nigella because it really helps tenderize the meat without drying it out. Seriously, try this. It’s my new favorite way to marinate chicken. When I was planning my shopping list I was looking for something a little different than the Indian spiced chicken from Simply Nigella. In Plated there are a bunch of marinade recipes in the front, and I swore I read one that included miso and gochujang (which I bought specifically for this) as well as vinegar. When I actually went to cook, though, it wasn’t there. I pulled out a bunch of my other cookbooks thinking I must have found it somewhere, but no luck. I guess I made it up. I tried a bit of gochujang, loved it, and decided to make it work anyway. It turned out really good! I also added sunomono and plain white rice on the side. Definitely recommend! This time I added more soy sauce and less sugar to the sunomono. My husband didn’t really notice a difference, but I found it a million times better than last time. The toddler still hated it. (Aka she licked it and immediately spit it out.)

FullSizeRender

By the way, I definitely did not eat that whole huge chicken breast. Half of it is packed up for tomorrow’s lunch.

 

Miso Gochujang chicken

Ingredients

canola oil

2-3 chicken breasts, pounded thin (you could use other cuts, just adjust cooking time)

3 cloves garlic, chopped

pinch of powdered ginger

1 tablespoon white miso

2 teaspoons gochujang (a spicy, fermented Korean hot pepper paste with a sweet finish)

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon mirin (sweet rice wine. Here you could substitute sherry or even honey)

 

Mix all ingredients from garlic down in a bowl, then add to a large zip top bag. Add chicken and squish to cover. Leave to marinate for about 10 minutes.

Heat canola oil in a cast iron skillet. Add chicken and cook, about 3 minutes per side. Chicken is done when internal temperature reaches 165. I always check, because I’m a worrier.

 

 

One thought on “Imaginary Recipe

Leave a Reply

