Miso doesn’t belong in MY ice cream

At least not so much at a time. Probably not at all.

FullSizeRender (2)

Back up. Today I made Nigella Lawson’s no-churn white miso ice cream from her book Simply Nigella. The description says that this recipe is like salted caramel ice cream, but with more depth of flavor. I suppose that part is true, and I gave it a chance, but unfortunately it’s not for me.

If you haven’t heard of it, miso is a paste made of fermented soybeans. It’s salty and rich and full of an earthy umami flavor. There are different types of miso and white miso, which the recipe calls for, is the mildest.

I made the ice cream then waited (mostly) patiently for it to freeze, took a big bite and… soy sauce. That’s not really what it tasted like at all, but that’s the first thought that popped into my head. SLIGHTLY sweet, very salty, completely overwhelming. I really wanted to like this, so the next step was trying to jazz it up with this easy caramel sauce from the Pioneer Woman. The caramel is delicious, the ice cream is still a little too much for me. By the way have you seen the Pioneer Woman’s product line? Everything is too cute. There’s a wooden spoon of hers I seriously covet,  and look at the bottom of her frying pans!

IMG_0508

A friend suggested chocolate to calm down the saltiness, and a quick google search showed me that chocolate and miso ice cream is a real thing. I thought about it for a minute, and it could definitely work, but I decided life’s too short. I don’t feel like making chocolate sauce right now and I think miso is just too firmly in the savory category for me. I might try again one day if the mood strikes.

If you like super salty desserts, give this a try. I’m hoping to pawn the rest of this batch off on my husband. The caramel is mine though, that one’s a keeper.

2 thoughts on “Miso doesn’t belong in MY ice cream

  1. I just made this ice cream and had the same reaction to it- and I love savory flavors, normally. Perhaps the miso that she used to make this was less strong than mine? I have had similar problems with other of her recipes- a lot of the flavors seem like they would work if the proportions were dialed down a bit. (The cinnamon in her Thai shrimp noodles, for instance.) It’s nice to find someone else who had the same reaction.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

