Nigella Is my hero

I moved to Iowa five years or so ago, and while I love it here there are definitely things I miss about living in a bigger city. Green tea ice cream is a BIG one. I think I have seen it on a restaurant menu somewhere, maybe, but I cannot find it in any of the stores. I’ve been looking like crazy, I see a green ice cream, lean in to check, and ultimately I’m disappointed when it turns out to be pistachio or mint.

I don’t have an ice cream maker, but I do have a friend with one. We made matcha ice cream once (if you can’t find matcha near you, definitely check Amazon) but I don’t want to be barging into her house to use her stuff all the time. And I don’t want to spend the money on or find the space I would need to store one right now.

Enter Nigella Lawson. I was browsing on Pinterest the other day (dangerous!) when I saw a photo (sans recipe) of her no churn matcha ice cream from her new book Simply Nigella. I knew of her from her guest appearances as a judge on Iron Chef, but I just kind of assumed she was another celebrity chef. More sparkle than substance. I was so wrong, and I wish I had looked into her sooner. I requested her book from my local library and flipping through it I was immediately IMPRESSED. I went to the store to get the extra ingredients I’d need for the matcha ice cream (which was super simple since there’s only three ingredients total) and made it that same night. The ice cream is full of matcha flavor and the sweetness is not over the top. The texture is pretty nice too. It’s so easy and so delicious, and now I can make green tea ice cream whenever I want. Jury’s still out on whether that’s a good thing or a dangerous one.

Now that I’m done with the super exciting recipe, this book still has a ton to offer. The writing is warm and friendly, like the author is addressing a friend and giving you a peek into her daily life. The pages are filled with recipe after recipe that seem simple to make and will be delicious to eat. I’m already planning to make the spiced chicken escalopes, ramen, sweet potato macaroni and cheese, Strapatsada, and more. If you can get your hands on a copy I definitely recommend it, I’ll be buying this one ASAP!

 

Leave a Reply

