I love sourdough

IMG_0316

I love sourdough. For real. There’s just something special about tearing into that crunchy crust, the texture difference when you get to the middle, and the intense flavor explosion that daydreams are made of. I always thought it was out of my reach as a not so super experienced home baker, but it’s not! I found this tutorial from the kitchn on how to make your own sourdough starter, and on 1/30/16 at 1:30 AM Heinrich III was born. That’s him up there, so glamorous. (There was a Henry and a Heinrich I attempted years ago with another tutorial, but my kitchen temperature was not ideal at the time and they didn’t work out.) I couldn’t sleep, so I started a starter. Perfect idea, right? Luckily, it worked out!

Now I’m popping out loaves of sourdough every week, and it’s delicious. If you were one of those people who made new years resolutions about lowering your carb intake we probably can’t be friends. Unless you want to hear about delicious carb loaded creations constantly. No regrets. If you’ve ever had the impulse, try it! Just flour, water, magical invisible yeast, and some time- that’s all it takes. In a week you can be making your own beautiful bread.

The kitchn also has a beginner sourdough loaf recipe that you can find here. I’ve adapted this one to my own tastes, and I love it. I don’t use the yeast, let the dough rise slowly overnight in the fridge, and shape it into boules to bake in a cast iron dutch oven. The dutch oven is a must! It gives the bread a nice steamy environment to bake in, ensuring the perfect crust without trying to spritz the inside of your oven with the right amount of water at the right time. Nice and easy. I know there are fancier recipes out there, but this one is mine. Maybe I will try another one someday, but why fix it if it’s not broken? Sometimes simple is best.

Have an impulsive day, go start a starter now! Even if it’s 1:30 am. You’ll thank yourself later.

Leave a Reply

